Making Democracy Work

City of Richmond

Government, City Council, School Board, Constitutional Officers

Government

  • Government Form: Strong Mayor
  • Operates under city charter granted by the General Assembly
  • Council members elected from districts in non-partisan elections
  • Mayor elected in an at-large election and must win five of the nine districts http://www.ci.richmond.va.us

Mayor

Lavar M. Stoney
Mayor's Office
900 E. Broad St., Suite 201
Richmond, VA 23219
Phone: (804) 646-7970
Fax: (804) 646-7987
askthemayor@richmondgov.com

City Council

  • Four-year term, Next election: November 2020

    City Council meets 2nd and 4th Mondays of each month at 6:00 PM, Council Chambers, 2nd Floor, City Hall, 900 E. Broad St., Richmond, 23219

    Mailing address: 900 E. Broad Street, Suite 305 Richmond, 23219 Phone: (804) 646-2778 Fax: (804) 646-5468

District 1
Andreas D. Addison
(804) 646-5945
Andreas.Addison@Richmondgov.com

District 2
Kimberly B. Gray
(804) 646-6532
Kimberly.Gray@Richmondgov.com

District 3
Chris A. Hilbert, President
(804) 646-6055
Chris.Hilbert@Richmondgov.com

District 4
Kristen Larson
(804) 646-5646
Kristen.Larson@Richmondgov.com

District 5
Parker C. Agelasto
(804) 646-5724
Parker.Agelasto@Richmondgov.com

District 6
Ellen F. Robertson
(804) 646-7964
Ellen.Robertson@Richmondgov.com

District 7
Cynthia I. Newbille, Vice President
(804) 646-3012
Cynthia.Newbille@Richmondgov.com

District 8
Reva M. Trammell
(804) 646-6591
Reva.Trammell@Richmondgov.com

District 9
Michael J. Jones
(804) 646-2779
Michael.Jones@Richmondgov.com

School Board

  • Four-year term, Next election: November 2020
  • Elected from districts in non-partisan elections
  • Has no taxing authority
  • Appoints school superintendent

The School Board meets:
  • on the first Monday of each month at 6:00pm in the School Board Room on the 17th floor of City Hall, and
  • on the third Monday of each month at 6:00pm in City Council Chambers on the 2nd floor of City Hall Phone: (804) 780-7710 http://www.richmond.k12.va.us

District 1
Liz B. Doerr
(804) 929-6624
edoerr@rvaschools.net

District 2
James Barlow
(804) 929-6571
jbarlow3@rvaschools.net

District 3
Cindy Menz-Erb
(804)
@rvaschools.net

District 4
Jonathan Young
(804) 929-7006
jyoung7@rvaschools.net

District 5
Patrick Sapini, Vice Chair
(804) 929-6930
psapini@rvaschools.net

District 6
Felicia Crosby
(804) 929-6871
fcosby@rvaschools.net

District 7
Nadine Marsh-Carter
(804) 929-6894
ncarter@rvaschools.net

District 8
Dawn Page, Chair
(804) 929-7158
dpage2@rvaschools.net

District 9
Linda Baker Owen
(804) 929-7371
lbaker2@rvaschools.net

Constitutional Officers

Four elected Constitutional Officers.

Clerk of the Court 8-Year Term; Next Election 2019
Edward F. Jewett (D)
John Marshall Court Building
400 N. Ninth Street
Richmond, VA 23219
(804) 646-6505
circuitcourtclerkinformation@richmondgov.com

Treasurer 4-Year Term, Next Election 2017
Eunice M. Wilder (D)
900 E. Broad St., Room 107
Richmond, VA 23219
(804) 646-6474 Fax: (804) 646-3904
Eunice.wilder@richmondgov.com

Sheriff 4-Year Term, Next Election: 2017
C.T. Woody, Jr.
1701 Fairfield Way
Richmond, VA 23223
(804) 646-4464
Sheriff@richmondgov.com

Commonwealth's Attorney 4-Year Term, Next Election: 2017
Michael Herring
John Marshall Court Building, Room 100
400 N. Ninth Street
Richmond, VA 23219
(804) 646-3500