Making Democracy Work

Henrico County

Elected Officials

Form of Government, Board of Supervisors, School Board, Constitutional Officers

Form of Government

  • Government Form: County Manager
  • Five-member Board of Supervisors elected from districts.
  • Appoints County Manager.
  • Three elected Constitutional Officers.

Board of Supervisors

4-Year Terms, Next Election: 2019, Board meets 2nd and 4th Thursdays of each month, 7:00 PM, Administrative Building Board Room, 4301 East Parham Road
Mailing address:
P. O. Box 90775
Henrico, VA 23273-0775
Phone: 501-4000
Web site:

Brookland District
Daniel J. Schmitt
Office: 501-4208

Fairfield District
Frank J. Thornton, Chair
Home: 264-5363 Office: 501-4208

Three Chopt District
Thomas M.Branin
Office: 501-4208

Tuckahoe District
Patricia S. O'Bannon
Home: 285-4728 Office:501-4208

Varina District
Tyrone E. Nelson, Vice Chair
Office: (804) 501-4208

Henrico School Board

4-Year Term, Next Election 2019, Elected from districts in non-partisan election.
Has no taxing authority.
Appoints School Superintendent.
Board meets 4th Thursday of each month, 7:30pm, at New Bridge auditorium, 5915 Nine Mile Road
Mailing address:
P.O. Box 23120
3820 Nine Mile Road
Henrico, VA 23223
Phone: 652-3600
Web site:

Brookland District
Beverly L. Cocke, Chair
Phone: 592-7538

Fairfield District
Roscoe D. Cooper, Vice Chair
Phone: 385-9821

Three Chopt District
Michelle F. "Micky" Ogburn
Phone: 385-9819

Tuckahoe District
Lisa A. Marshall
Phone: 385-9822

Varina District
John W. Montgomery Jr.
Phone: 385-9823

Constitutional Officers

Commonwealth's Attorney, 4-Year Term, next election 2019
Shannon L. Taylor
Office: 501-4218

Sheriff, 4-Year Term, next election 2019
Michael L. Wade
Office: 501-5860

Clerk of the Circuit Court, 8-Year Term, next election 2023
Heidi S. Barshinger
Office: 501-4202

Henricopolis Soil & Water Conservation District

3-Year Term, Next Election:
Meets the 3rd Thursday monthly at 3:00pm in the Henrico Human Services Board Room
Phone: 501-5175

James E. Beckley

Tom Herbert

Nicole Anderson Ellis